Board of Directors

Our board of directors is composed of a majority of independent directors, augmented with member representatives who are experts in the payments industry.

Under the leadership of Eileen Mercier, the 12-elected directors are charged with governing and managing the affairs of the organization with a focus on strategic and policy matters.

Every year, directors are appointed at the Annual Meeting of Members, following a nomination process. The Payments Canada’s Board of Directors is composed of 12 elected directors -- seven independent directors and five member representative directors -- and the President and CEO of Payments Canada.  

The board has overall responsibility to direct and manage the affairs of Payments Canada, with a focus on strategic and policy matters. The board of directors delivers a critical function to the success of the Canadian payments systems and in turn, the economy.

A message from our chair