Stakeholder Advisory Council

The Stakeholder Advisory Council (SAC) was established in 1996, and was formalized in the Canadian Payments Act in 2001.The SAC provides advice to our Board of Directors on payment, clearing, and settlement matters. SAC members contribute input on proposed initiatives, including by-laws, policy statements and rules that affect third parties. They also identify issues that might concern payments system users and service providers, and suggest how they could be addressed.

The SAC meets at least three times a year. In addition, SAC representatives have the opportunity to serve on other Payments Canada committees.


The SAC has a maximum of 20 members representing the views of our broad stakeholder base, including consumers, businesses, retailers, and governments, as well as related service providers.

Eligibility requirements for membership and the yearly nominations process are set out in our General By-law and Administration By-law respectively.

Members (as of June 2020)

  • AscendantFX Capital, Shemina Jiwani
  • Canadian Depository for Securities Ltd., Wayne Ralph
  • Canadian Federation of Independent Business, Jasmin Guénette
  • Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association, Brent Mizzen
  • Consumers Council of Canada, Don Mercer
  • Finance Canada, Julie Trépanier (observer)
  • FinTech Growth Syndicate, Sue Britton
  • Fiserv, David Chance - Stakeholder Advisory Coucil Chair 
  • Google Payments, Erika Peterson
  • Hydro Quebec, Michel Lechasseur
  • Intact Financial Corporation, Ilinca Vetra
  • KOHO, Elena Litani
  • Microsoft, Tracy Lagasse
  • Ministry of Finance, Province of British Columbia, Jean Hope
  • Option Consommateurs, Alexandre Plourde
  • Paybright, Wayne Pommen
  • Payments Canada Board of Directors, John Sheridan
  • PayPal Canada, Katja Lehr
  • Receiver General for Canada PSPC, Jean-Pierre Blais
  • Symcor, Donna Kinoshita
  • Transferwise, Vacant

Terms of reference